Call us: 226-791-2672  |  Golf Tournament |  Search This Site |  Guest Speakers  |  Minutes  |  Map  |  Local Businesses  |  Local Events  |    

Minutes for Board of Trade meetings

« Previous page

New Hamburg Board of Trade General Membership Meeting

Wednesday, October 22, 2014

  • Catered by Puddicombe House.
  • This evening featured a special event with Nick Cressman of Puddicombe House providing and presenting local beers to accompany each of the three courses during the meal.
  • 50/50 draw: $87.50 was won by Gina Ruttan.
  • Guest speaker: Board of Trade member David Seyler, who is our representative on Canada's Technology Triangle. Township of Wilmot CAO Grant Whittington - was also present this evening - is our other representative.
  • Former Board president Tim Bender led this meeting in current president Steve Wagler's absence.

1. Review of meeting minutes

  • Tim Bender: The review and passing of meeting minutes for September's general and October's executive were deferred until November.

2. New Business/Announcements

  • Tim: Thanks to Steve Funk for moderating the municipal meet the candidates event.
  • Joe Figliomeni presented basic details of the proposed structure for 2015 membership dues. This will be discussed more fully and voted on at November's annual general meeting.
  • Tim: Next month's guest speaker will be TLC Pet Food founder Erik Kuttis.
  • Erin Autio (Gaia's Gardens) announced that judging for this year's Wilmot Gingerbread House Contest will be December 3 and 4. Details and updates on the contest's Facebook page.
  • Cheryl Gordijk: Thanks to Dave Mackay's nofrills for donating the ice cream the Board sold at this year's Sidewalk Sale fundraiser.
    The 2014 Santa Claus Parade will be Sunday, December 7. This will be the last year the parade will be organized by the New Hamburg Optimists before it returns to the Board to oversee. Volunteers will be needed for the day of the event as well as for bagging candy, which will take place after November's Board meeting.

3. Meeting adjourned: 9:12 p.m.

Minutes as recorded by Nigel Gordijk.